SkySafari not working

Astrophotography has never been easier

Moderators: yang, Sam, Ji.zwo, lancer jiang

Post Reply
Bonorden
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 12:53 am

SkySafari not working

Post by Bonorden » Tue Feb 26, 2019 2:22 pm

I hadn't seen this issue...

I received my ASIAIR yesterday and it easily connected to my Celestron CPC c11. After a little research, I was able to connect SkySafari. My difficulty is that while SkySafari connects and can physically slew my telescope (using both the IPAD and controller). The starmap on SkySafari does not move. As such, GoTos do not work either.

The RA and DEC do not appear to be registering correctly...I believe the RA was 12h 00m 00.00 and the DEC was 00 00 00.0. These values do not change when slewing the scope.

User avatar
Ji.zwo
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:29 am

Re: SkySafari not working

Post by Ji.zwo » Fri Mar 01, 2019 5:51 am

Bonorden wrote:
Tue Feb 26, 2019 2:22 pm
I hadn't seen this issue...

I received my ASIAIR yesterday and it easily connected to my Celestron CPC c11. After a little research, I was able to connect SkySafari. My difficulty is that while SkySafari connects and can physically slew my telescope (using both the IPAD and controller). The starmap on SkySafari does not move. As such, GoTos do not work either.

The RA and DEC do not appear to be registering correctly...I believe the RA was 12h 00m 00.00 and the DEC was 00 00 00.0. These values do not change when slewing the scope.
Hello Bonorden, could you please attach a screenshot of your SkySafari settings:
Settings>Telescope
Then, when slew in SkySafari, did the app show any messages?
ZWO | Tech Support
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

Bonorden
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 12:53 am

Re: SkySafari not working

Post by Bonorden » Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:35 pm

I hope it is something as easy as an incorrect setting.

I cannot figure how to attach a picture...but here is my settings:

Celestron CPC Series
Equatorial GoTo (Fork)
SkyFi - unchecked
IP 10.0.0.1
Port 4030
Time & Location - unchecked
Readout Rate 4 per second
Tilt Device to Slew - unchecked
Save Log file - unchecked

I get no error messages. It connects and the scope slews when I touch up/down/left/right...but the screen does not move.

When I operate this without ASIAIR...and use my Skyportal/Skyfi...it works perfect.

Bonorden
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 12:53 am

Re: SkySafari not working

Post by Bonorden » Sat Mar 02, 2019 2:36 am

Solved!

I found a USB hand controller and hooked it up (instead of the serial hand controller) and it works now.

Kellimtai
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:46 pm

Re: SkySafari not working

Post by Kellimtai » Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:11 pm

Hi Folks

I found out that using Skysafari with my neq5 the goto applied from the Skysafari is blocking, I mean with it that the mount do not go strait to the target. I have to apply several times the goto button on Skysafari to go till the end to get the target. Do someone els have the same issue?

Thanks for replay

User avatar
Sam
Posts: 2765
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:51 am

Re: SkySafari not working

Post by Sam » Tue Mar 12, 2019 7:31 am

did you do star alignment at first?
something like this happens if there is no star alignment has been done
ZWO Founder
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

Kellimtai
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:46 pm

Re: SkySafari not working

Post by Kellimtai » Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:04 am

Yes I did like it should be done with the mount and the racquet connected on it to use after the Skysafari.
3 star a lineament.

Post Reply