ASICAP Auto Exposure Issue

questions or suggestion about ASICAP software

Moderators: chad, walkfaraway

Post Reply
M44DSW
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:19 pm

ASICAP Auto Exposure Issue

Post by M44DSW » Fri Sep 06, 2019 9:44 am

Hi,

I now have an ASI120MC-S USB 3 camera from you after upgrading from the older model. I am trying to use as an All Sky Camera so it runs all day and night. It is connected to my Mac OSX 10.14.6 USB 3.0 port directly. I am using ASICAP 1.6.1 and everything works fine if I do not change any settings however I have two issues.

1) If I leave the Auto tick box selected for Exposure, the camera exposure does not change at night and I do not see a picture until I untick Auto and select 1-2000s dropdown. Why?

2) Quite often I select Auto tick box with 1-2000s and the camera then freezes and the temperature reports a stupidly high figure, last night 58884 degrees C which is clearly an error, the way to fix is unplug the camera and plug back in. Why?

Many Thanks
Dave

User avatar
walkfaraway
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:52 am
Location: lon=120.6 lat=31.3

Re: ASICAP Auto Exposure Issue

Post by walkfaraway » Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:32 am

Hi Dave,

For the first question. If the camera exposure not change in the night, you could try to set the "auto exposure limit" as the following picture.
auto_exp_limit.png

For the second question. I'm sorry that I haven't reproduce the problem.Once we reproduce the problem, we will find a solution immediately.

Thank you.
Mouling Song
ZWO Software Engineer
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

AllenBow
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2020 7:27 pm
Location: new Zealand
Contact:

ASICAP Auto Exposure Issue

Post by AllenBow » Sun Apr 19, 2020 10:12 am

If the intent is only to blend exposures and not focus blend, does it make more sense to only use exposure blend? Does focus blend have any effect on bracketed images in which the focus has not changed?

Post Reply