Using EAF with ASICAP and INDI

Focusers, Filters, Barlows etc..

Moderators: Sam, Sean.Wang

Post Reply
DerPit
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:17 pm

Using EAF with ASICAP and INDI

Post by DerPit » Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:24 pm

Hi,

I'm playing with my new toy, the EAF, and noticed some irregularity:
If I use the EAF via ASICAP, then quit ASICAP and start INDI/EKOS, it will not properly connect to the EAF. It can read some settings, but fails to set max position and (reverse) direction. Tuning the device is also not possible. I have to powercycle the EAF and restart INDI to be able to control the EAF again.

Same happens the other way round: After I have used it with INDI, ASICAP will not detect the EAF anymore, unless I powercycle it.

I am using Linux with ASICAP 1.6.1 and the latest INDI/KStars versions from GIT.

User avatar
Sam
Posts: 2783
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:51 am

Re: Using EAF with ASICAP and INDI

Post by Sam » Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:20 am

we will test and feedback
ZWO Founder
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

DerPit
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:17 pm

Re: Using EAF with ASICAP and INDI

Post by DerPit » Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:42 pm

Just three more notes:
  • Looking closer at that, I could see that if I disconnect the EAF in ASICAP, and then connect again, it will be in 'moving mode' (the control window for the EAF shows 'Stop' in the button, instead of 'Goto Position').
  • On INDI side the problem is solved now (git version) by calling EAFStop() during initialization.
  • After having used it via INDI I still need to re-plug the USB cable of the EAF, else ASICAP will not see it at all

ThatsMyCoffee
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:36 pm

Re: Using EAF with ASICAP and INDI

Post by ThatsMyCoffee » Tue Oct 08, 2019 1:37 pm

I have the same problem with Mac and INDI/ASICAP.

After changing software, I can read the temp & position, but there is no control until power is cycled on/off.

Katherine.Tsai
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:24 am

Re: Using EAF with ASICAP and INDI

Post by Katherine.Tsai » Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:58 am

I have convey this message to the devs, thank you very much for the feedback.:)

Katherine.Tsai
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:24 am

Re: Using EAF with ASICAP and INDI

Post by Katherine.Tsai » Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:13 am

Hi Sir,
Our devs found the problem ,the problem lies on that ASICAP was using the old EAF_focuser.dll, we will fix it.

Katherine.Tsai
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:24 am

Re: Using EAF with ASICAP and INDI

Post by Katherine.Tsai » Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:03 am

Hi Sir,
Please upgrade ASICAP here.

https://astronomy-imaging-camera.com/public/ASICap.rar

Post Reply