Page 1 of 1

ioptron ieq 30 pro connection problem

Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 6:38 am
by bodiebell1957
My ASIAIR is connecting well to my cameras ( ASI 107 Pro and ASI 174 Mini) and control functions are fine but the unit does not recognize my mount. It does not appear in the drop-down menu- only Meade mounts show up there. I am connecting with a USB to serial connector, then a serial to RS32 cable to the mount. Any suggestions?

Re: ioptron ieq 30 pro connection problem

Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:58 am
by Chuckwagon
Have you verified that you can connect to the mount directly using your cables, without the asiair? Do you need to load an ascom driver for that mount? Just taking a guess. Good luck. :)

Re: ioptron ieq 30 pro connection problem

Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 6:08 pm
by HDastro
"It does not appear in the drop-down menu- only Meade mounts show up there."................

My Skywatcher Synscan appears in the drop down, are you sure you are sliding the slider all the way down far enough, or does the drop down menu STOP with Meade as the only choices?

Re: ioptron ieq 30 pro connection problem

Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 6:12 pm
by HDastro
Just looked at the compatability list posted here for mounts supported by INDI:

https://indilib.org/devices/telescopes/ioptron.html

Have a look see.

Re: ioptron ieq 30 pro connection problem

Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 6:06 am
by bodiebell1957
Thanks for the replies!
Yes, the drop down menu stops at the end of the Meade products.
The ioptron mount is listed in the INDI list, so does that mean that the driver already exists in the ASIAIR or do I have to load it somehow?
Thanks again for helping!

Re: ioptron ieq 30 pro connection problem

Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 8:54 pm
by HDastro
When I look at the section TELESCOPE in the Asiair, I see an ioptron IEQ30. When I choose it it allows me to choose Serial connection or Wifi

Do you see that also. Can you post a screenshot of your choices for the ioptron mounts as I see multiple choices.

Re: ioptron ieq 30 pro connection problem

Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:05 pm
by HDastro
BTW, I just looked at the number of possible iOptron mounts and counted approx. 10 possible models.

If you have no iOptron mounts as choices possible, suggest you contact ZWO Support.

Good luck

Re: ioptron ieq 30 pro connection problem

Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:50 pm
by HDastro
One last thing, I assume you are using the latest version of ASIair app? Not sure if the mounts were in there prior to V 1.0.8 as I only purchased the ASIair 1 month ago and downloaded the V1.0.8 from Google Play store for Android

Re: ioptron ieq 30 pro connection problem

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:31 am
by FredP
use ioptron ieq45 pro from the drop down

Re: ioptron ieq 30 pro connection problem

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 8:31 am
by bodiebell1957
Thanks, Fred P!
That was the ticket!
I guess the ieq 30 pro is more like the ieq 45 pro than the ieq 30!
Anyway, works great now!
Fantastic to sit in my warm house in Alaska and let my equipment shiver out there in the cold!
Thanks again!
OB