ASIAir Histogram Scaling to 16 bit, but have 14 bit camera

Astrophotography has never been easier

Moderators: Sam, Tech@ZWO, ASIAIR@ZWO

Post Reply
Maximus_Astro
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 2:34 pm

ASIAir Histogram Scaling to 16 bit, but have 14 bit camera

Post by Maximus_Astro » Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:24 pm

Hi I was wondering if the ASIAir and Pro are scaling the camera histogram ADU to 16 bit? I have the ASI294 and ASI533 that are both 14bit and trying to get my flat calibration frames to a proper ADU level. I have been going off information I received that suggested being at 24000 avg ADU but that's on a 16 bit scale so I'm trying to figure if I should actually scale down my ADU calulations to 14 bit. Any suggestions?

User avatar
ASIAIR@ZWO
Posts: 608
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:29 am

Re: ASIAir Histogram Scaling to 16 bit, but have 14 bit camera

Post by ASIAIR@ZWO » Mon Aug 03, 2020 10:35 am

Maximus_Astro wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:24 pm
Hi I was wondering if the ASIAir and Pro are scaling the camera histogram ADU to 16 bit? I have the ASI294 and ASI533 that are both 14bit and trying to get my flat calibration frames to a proper ADU level. I have been going off information I received that suggested being at 24000 avg ADU but that's on a 16 bit scale so I'm trying to figure if I should actually scale down my ADU calulations to 14 bit. Any suggestions?
Yes, on ASIAIR it's scaled to 16bit, but if you do the post-processing, need to set it to 14bit.
ZWO | ASIAIR Support
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
Suzhou China

Post Reply