ASIAir Pro Focus routine not working for me

Astrophotography has never been easier

Moderators: Sam, Tech@ZWO, ASIAIR@ZWO

Post Reply
rreed
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:40 pm

ASIAir Pro Focus routine not working for me

Post by rreed » Thu May 21, 2020 4:51 am

Maybe I'm missing something, but I can't get the 5x zoom focus to work with the magnifier symbol. I'm trying to manually focus a spacecat and when I move the green crosshair and box over the 1x star, and then change the zoom setting to 5x, it does magnify the star, but the box and crosshairs are no longer centered over the star. Then I move the 5x box and crosshairs to the new location of that 5x star and tap the magnifier and there is no star in the upper left corner box. I'm using an iPad pro 11" version.

Another issue is that when I move the green box and crosshair over a 1x star, and then click the magnifier, I get that 1x star in the center of the upper left box, but there is no helpful readout in the upper right box to aid in focusing. HFD just stays on 10.

Finally, it's pretty buggy in that sometimes the zoom setting doesn't go back to 1x while on 5x or vice versa when tapped.

Anybody else have these experiences? Many thanks. Rick

User avatar
ASIAIR@ZWO
Posts: 487
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:29 am

Re: ASIAir Pro Focus routine not working for me

Post by ASIAIR@ZWO » Mon Jun 29, 2020 10:42 am

rreed wrote:
Thu May 21, 2020 4:51 am
Maybe I'm missing something, but I can't get the 5x zoom focus to work with the magnifier symbol. I'm trying to manually focus a spacecat and when I move the green crosshair and box over the 1x star, and then change the zoom setting to 5x, it does magnify the star, but the box and crosshairs are no longer centered over the star. Then I move the 5x box and crosshairs to the new location of that 5x star and tap the magnifier and there is no star in the upper left corner box. I'm using an iPad pro 11" version.

Another issue is that when I move the green box and crosshair over a 1x star, and then click the magnifier, I get that 1x star in the center of the upper left box, but there is no helpful readout in the upper right box to aid in focusing. HFD just stays on 10.

Finally, it's pretty buggy in that sometimes the zoom setting doesn't go back to 1x while on 5x or vice versa when tapped.

Anybody else have these experiences? Many thanks. Rick
Hey Rick, about the DSLR focus routine, we will optimize it in the future versions.
ZWO | ASIAIR Support
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
Suzhou China

Post Reply