ASI Air and Star Adventurer

Astrophotography has never been easier

Moderators: Sam, Tech@ZWO, ASIAIR@ZWO

Post Reply
cjdawson
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 12:48 pm

ASI Air and Star Adventurer

Post by cjdawson » Mon Nov 04, 2019 8:01 pm

Just purchased an ASI Air to use for my portable setup. I've had a couple of goes with it now and love that I can do a PA, and can get the guiding working, by connecting the camera on the main and guide scope. However, I'm using a Sky Watcher Star Adventurer Pro as the mount. It's not a GOTO mount, but it does allow guiding in RA only. The polar alignment feature is great for being able to do longer exposures. I love the setup. I also have attempted plate solving using my DSLR, which worked great. I was able to get RA and Dec co-ordinates for where the camera is pointing.

I've also got Sky Safari Pro, and as you can expect, I can find where the camera is pointing by entering the RA and Dec. What I'd love to be able to do is connect Sky Safari to the ASIAir, even though the mount is not goto, but have it simulate a mount. So that I can plate solve an image. Then have sky safari updated to show where that plate solve is pointing. Using that information, I could then slew the scope manually, plate solve again and see the new position, without having to continually hunt for the place.

Is it possible to have a simulator mount added to the ASIAir so act like this?

User avatar
ASIAIR@ZWO
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:29 am

Re: ASI Air and Star Adventurer

Post by ASIAIR@ZWO » Tue Nov 05, 2019 1:31 am

cjdawson wrote:
Mon Nov 04, 2019 8:01 pm
Just purchased an ASI Air to use for my portable setup. I've had a couple of goes with it now and love that I can do a PA, and can get the guiding working, by connecting the camera on the main and guide scope. However, I'm using a Sky Watcher Star Adventurer Pro as the mount. It's not a GOTO mount, but it does allow guiding in RA only. The polar alignment feature is great for being able to do longer exposures. I love the setup. I also have attempted plate solving using my DSLR, which worked great. I was able to get RA and Dec co-ordinates for where the camera is pointing.

I've also got Sky Safari Pro, and as you can expect, I can find where the camera is pointing by entering the RA and Dec. What I'd love to be able to do is connect Sky Safari to the ASIAir, even though the mount is not goto, but have it simulate a mount. So that I can plate solve an image. Then have sky safari updated to show where that plate solve is pointing. Using that information, I could then slew the scope manually, plate solve again and see the new position, without having to continually hunt for the place.

Is it possible to have a simulator mount added to the ASIAir so act like this?
Hello there, the ASIAIR already has the simulator which called [Demo Interface].
ZWO | ASIAIR Support
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
Suzhou China

Post Reply