Page 1 of 4

Asiair and Avalon mount (Stargo)?

Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 1:04 pm
by Daan
Hi there,

Will the Asiair work with an Avalon Linear - Stargo- mount?

Re: Asiair and Avalon mount (Stargo)?

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 2:44 am
by Ji.zwo
Daan wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 1:04 pm
Hi there,

Will the Asiair work with an Avalon Linear - Stargo- mount?
Hello,
Yes, you can. In the app, from the mount drop list, you can choose [Avalon StarGo] to connect to your mount.
All the Avalon mounts based on the StarGo control system are compatible with ASIAIR.
More tips for you, may help:
Focal length 250 mm 500 mm 1000 mm 2000 mm
RA/DEC Max Duration 600/800 400/600 250/400 200/300
RA/DEC Aggressiveness 100 90 80 70
Guide Exposure in seconds 0,5 to 1 0,5 to 1 1 to 2 1 to 2
RA/DEC Autoguide Speed 0,50/0,60 0,35/0,45 0,25/0,35 0,15/0,25

This is the guide parameters which will be used in the ASIAIR app.

Re: Asiair and Avalon mount (Stargo)?

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 7:44 am
by Daan
Thanks for the fast reply!

Can I connect 1) it directly from usb Asiair to usb mount or 2) should i use the supplied usb-RS232 serial Cable and connect it by purchasing a RS232 serial cable to RJ45 handcontroller input on the mount?

Re: Asiair and Avalon mount (Stargo)?

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 8:01 am
by Ji.zwo
Daan wrote:
Fri Nov 01, 2019 7:44 am
Thanks for the fast reply!

Can I connect 1) it directly from usb Asiair to usb mount or 2) should i use the supplied usb-RS232 serial Cable and connect it by purchasing a RS232 serial cable to RJ45 handcontroller input on the mount?
You are welcome!
It should be thru the RS232 serial cable. BUT, if the AVALON integrated the control system in the mount body likes the iOptron CEM40 does, yes, it could be thru the USB port on the mount. Maybe we need to contact the AVLON company to confirm that.
Have a nice day.

Re: Asiair and Avalon mount (Stargo)?

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 10:42 am
by Daan
Thanks!

I will check with Avalon if the control system is build in the mount. I suppose it is since I currently connect my laptop to the USB-B of the mount and that works fine. I can also control my mount by using a blue tooth connection to a tablet and run Skysafari. Would be nice if I could connect the Asiair by hooking up a Blue tooth adapter?

However, if the above doesnt work, which cable would I need to connect to the usd-rs232 cable from the Asiair?

Would a EQMOD cable also work?

Re: Asiair and Avalon mount (Stargo)?

Posted: Sun Nov 03, 2019 1:52 pm
by Daan
problem is solved :-)
If I select "Avalon Stargo" the ASI Air app crashes (freezes and closes down after some time). However if I select "Avalon Legacy" it will connect correctly. I'm using the Avalon Linear Stargo Bluetooth version. I guess the bluetooth version is being considered as legacy?

Re: Asiair and Avalon mount (Stargo)?

Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:57 am
by Ji.zwo
Daan wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 1:52 pm
problem is solved :-)
If I select "Avalon Stargo" the ASI Air app crashes (freezes and closes down after some time). However if I select "Avalon Legacy" it will connect correctly. I'm using the Avalon Linear Stargo Bluetooth version. I guess the bluetooth version is being considered as legacy?
Wow, so glad to hear that.
Yep, maybe it is. Could you please send me some pics of your connection? So we can do more search on it.
Thank you.

Re: Asiair and Avalon mount (Stargo)?

Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 10:37 am
by Daan
One of the Stargo INDI driver developers informed me on the Avalon support forum ( https://www.avalon-instruments.com/foru ... go?start=0 ) that The Avalon Legacy driver is a very simple LX200 implementation, while the Avalon StarGO driver is far more StarGO specific. So I really need to get the Stargo driver one working! Is it possible to download a log file from the ASI Air so he can have a look why the driver crashes?

It looks that it's not possible to attach a photo to this post. Should I email the screenprints of the connection to you? To which email account?

Re: Asiair and Avalon mount (Stargo)?

Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:49 am
by Daan
I've emailed the screenshots to support@zwoptical.com

Re: Asiair and Avalon mount (Stargo)?

Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:44 pm
by manu
thanks for the solution Daan

I've crashed with my m-zero + stargo. Hope it will be ok with the avalon legacy driver.

best regard

Emmanuel