EQdirect cable or Synscan handset?

Astrophotography has never been easier

Moderators: Sam, Tech@ZWO, ASIAIR@ZWO

Post Reply
jimme100
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:48 pm

EQdirect cable or Synscan handset?

Post by jimme100 » Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:46 am

Hello,
I have seen some posts where people eliminated the synscan hand controller just use an EQDirect cable. I have an orion atlas EQ-G with a v5 handset and I also have an EQDirect cable. I planned to connect via the Synscan handset, but now I'm not sure. Which method would be best and most problem free in terms of compatibility? can I use the EQDirect cable? Will it work with the Atlas?

It seems that with the EQDirect cable that i can polar align and platesolve to get good alignment. is this true? With the handset i still have to do 3 star align, correct?

I'm using an Orion Atlas EQ-G mount. Which method would be the suggested one if i have both options? I would like to have the least amount of troubleshooting and compatibility issues.

If i can use the EQDirect cable on the Atlas EQ-G, what do i choose for "mount"? in settings.

Regards,
Skyhunter1

Tech@ZWO
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:59 am

Re: EQdirect cable or Synscan handset?

Post by Tech@ZWO » Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:15 am

Which method would be best and most problem free in terms of compatibility? can I use the EQDirect cable? Will it work with the Atlas?

Both synscan(connected by HC)or Eqmo(directly connect) is ok for Asiair,

With the handset i still have to do 3 star align, correct?
Yes,when trying to connect the air by HC,sometimes need to do 3 star align


Which method would be the suggested one if i have both options?
Both ok. some prefer the HC(to control the mount) some prefer the Eqmod


If i can use the EQDirect cable on the Atlas EQ-G, what do i choose for "mount"? in settings.
=>EQmod
HC => synscan or synscan pro

Tech@ZWO
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:59 am

Re: EQdirect cable or Synscan handset?

Post by Tech@ZWO » Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:15 am

Which method would be best and most problem free in terms of compatibility? can I use the EQDirect cable? Will it work with the Atlas?

Both synscan(connected by HC)or Eqmod(directly connect) is ok for Asiair,

With the handset i still have to do 3 star align, correct?
Yes,when trying to connect the air by HC,sometimes need to do 3 star align


Which method would be the suggested one if i have both options?
Both ok. some prefer the HC(to control the mount) some prefer the Eqmod


If i can use the EQDirect cable on the Atlas EQ-G, what do i choose for "mount"? in settings.
=>EQmod
HC => synscan or synscan pro

Post Reply