Cameras using TDI integration mode

Moderators: Sam, Sean.Wang

Post Reply
maropapa
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 8:37 pm

Cameras using TDI integration mode

Post by maropapa » Thu Jul 05, 2018 7:36 pm

Is it possible to use any of your cameras in TDI (Time Delay Integration) mode? Do you plan to develop such feature?
Thanks!
Tamas

riklaunim
Posts: 507
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 6:15 pm

Re: Cameras using TDI integration mode

Post by riklaunim » Thu Jul 05, 2018 10:09 pm

What do you need it for? Some very big pixel old Sbig cameras supported that mode.

maropapa
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 8:37 pm

Re: Cameras using TDI integration mode

Post by maropapa » Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:21 am

riklaunim wrote:What do you need it for?
For imaging of course :D
I could use a big mirror e.g. without expensive mechanics. Even a big Dob could do.
Just think of SDSS. They also use it, calling Drift Scan.

User avatar
Sean.Wang
Posts: 621
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 10:08 am

Re: Cameras using TDI integration mode

Post by Sean.Wang » Fri Jul 06, 2018 10:47 am

I'm not quite understand, could you explain more details?
ZWO | Marketing Consultant
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

motto:
Don't face one's fate, can't be a real man;
Don't know manners, can't be gentle;
Don't know meaning behind the words, can't understand man's heart.

maropapa
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 8:37 pm

Re: Cameras using TDI integration mode

Post by maropapa » Fri Jul 06, 2018 1:12 pm

In TDI mode you don't need a drive on your telescope. Rather you set up the camera to east-west alignment, and let columns step with the same rate as the sky moves. This can be easily achieved with rolling shutter CCD. Only you need a UI where the user can set the column step value.
The whole in detail is described here:
http://www.driftscan.com/
Let me know if I can help more. I would really like this feature. Maybe Dob owners would use such a camera.

riklaunim
Posts: 507
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 6:15 pm

Re: Cameras using TDI integration mode

Post by riklaunim » Sat Jul 07, 2018 1:16 am

still it's very limited - you need to align the camera, and then catch a lot of signal on the pixels and manually repeat. It was available for Kodak sensors with 20x20um pixels but now with 2-4um pixels it becomes pretty much pointless. The resolution with big aperture will be to big and image quality very limited.

User avatar
Sean.Wang
Posts: 621
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 10:08 am

Re: Cameras using TDI integration mode

Post by Sean.Wang » Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:46 am

Thank you so much. We will learn about this method.
ZWO | Marketing Consultant
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

motto:
Don't face one's fate, can't be a real man;
Don't know manners, can't be gentle;
Don't know meaning behind the words, can't understand man's heart.

maropapa
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 8:37 pm

Re: Cameras using TDI integration mode

Post by maropapa » Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:07 pm

riklaunim wrote:still it's very limited - you need to align the camera, and then catch a lot of signal on the pixels and manually repeat. It was available for Kodak sensors with 20x20um pixels but now with 2-4um pixels it becomes pretty much pointless. The resolution with big aperture will be to big and image quality very limited.
I don't agree with you. Although this is definitely not for creating APOD, it has it own role. Even professionals use it today in SDSS.
https://www.sdss.org/instruments/

Post Reply