M81 and M42

Post your Deepsky images taken with ZWO Products here.
Post Reply
smerral
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 6:23 pm

M81 and M42

Post by smerral » Fri Jan 24, 2014 11:20 pm

Since I was having a go at M82 I thought I'd turn the ZWO ASI120MM on M81. Using the C8 at f2.5 (using my patent 0.5 reducer + extension tube combo :lol: ) I messed up a bit as this was supposed to be luminance but it's actually the red channel. I'm still getting used to the filter wheel! 50x10 sec subs with the gain set around 85. It needs more subs and some dark frames but it looks promising I think. I combined 3 shots for M42 (500ms, 1 sec and 10 secs) so as to capture the trapezium and core.

Image

Image

Knobby
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: M81 and M42

Post by Knobby » Fri Jan 24, 2014 11:34 pm

Nice

NDB
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:17 pm

Re: M81 and M42

Post by NDB » Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:35 pm

Nice capture since M81'arms are very faint!
Is it a standard 0.5x reducer for webcams?
Did you try the f/3.3 reducer corrector?
Nicolas.

Astro37
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:31 pm

Re: M81 and M42

Post by Astro37 » Tue Feb 04, 2014 1:53 pm

Nice!

smerral
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: M81 and M42

Post by smerral » Wed Feb 05, 2014 6:49 pm

Hi Nicoilas - yes it's the Antares 0.5x. The f/3.3 is on my shopping list! ;)

User avatar
Sam
Posts: 2799
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:51 am

Re: M81 and M42

Post by Sam » Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:45 am

very nice!
ZWO Founder
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

Post Reply