Two ASI120 in same computer

ASI's Range of Specialised CMOS camera's

Moderator: Sam

User avatar
Support2@ZWO
Posts: 668
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:58 am

Re: Two ASI120 in same computer

Post by Support2@ZWO » Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:49 am

einari wrote:Now guide-ASI is not connected (USB cable) and still same symptoms (just dropped frames with surveillance ASI).
You think changing firmware in surveillance ASI to colour might do the trick ?
We used PHD2 for guiding (also have tried PHD2 with surveillance ASI, and also used surveillance ASI with Firecapture).
We do not mean changing Firmware to color will solve this problem. We just want to rule out the possibility that you're opening the same camera twice. As we know, the two 120's are not only identical in hardware, but also in software.
According to your description, each of them works fine alone. And you have use the lowest USB bandwidth. It is really hard to have other questions.
Thanks
Chad
ZWO Driver Engineer
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

einari
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 3:51 pm

Re: Two ASI120 in same computer

Post by einari » Wed Jun 13, 2018 9:58 am

Here's the current status.
Now we had only one camera (surveillance) connected - the other guide camera was disconnected from USB.
Surveillance camera didn't work, not by removing drivers, installing drivers, booting computer.

But now after taking power off from NUC computer and then restarting the surveillance camera came to life.
This is strange and I don't understand why it is so.
Can you explain this ?

User avatar
Support@ZWO
Posts: 790
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 10:08 am

Re: Two ASI120 in same computer

Post by Support@ZWO » Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:50 am

I'm not quite understand about cut off power, maybe the power save mode or something relatived with this problem. At least we sure the camera is works well.
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
Suzhou China

einari
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 3:51 pm

Re: Two ASI120 in same computer

Post by einari » Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:59 am

Now we have changed our guide camera to a surveillance camera role.
Seemed to work as it should - first.
Last time I imaged couple of hours and surveillance worked perfectly.
But now this morning when I wanted to check status, I get again dropped frames and no image.
And again power reset of computer cured the situation.

User avatar
Support2@ZWO
Posts: 668
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:58 am

Re: Two ASI120 in same computer

Post by Support2@ZWO » Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:45 am

Hi,
I think you should check your computer. Does it turn off the power or turn off the USB in some case?
Usually, the USB had been disconnected will cause this situation.
Thanks
Chad
ZWO Driver Engineer
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

Post Reply