Two problems

ASI's Range of Specialised CMOS camera's

Moderators: Sam, Sean.Wang

User avatar
james_screech
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:34 am
Location: Bedford, England
Contact:

Two problems

Post by james_screech » Mon May 07, 2018 7:15 am

I have had the same two problems with my ASI1600mm-C the last two nights (the first clear nights I've been able to get out for months).

First when using short exposures for mount alignment and flats, some frames have bright bands (several pixels high) across them. This only appears to happen on short exposures of less then a second.

The second problem is that when taking longer exposures 10-15 sec (for photometery) my imaging software (APT) gets "stuck" downloading images occasionally, showing "Busy" in its status. On Saturday night this lost me about an hour of images as I did not notice it for a while. Stopping and restarting the APT plan re-started everything without an issue.

James
200pds, ED70 & Lunt LS50THa scopes
Celestron AVX & SE4 mounts
ASI1600MM-Cool, Atik414ex, 500D (mod) & ASI120MM cameras
XAGYL filterwheel, ZWO LRGB filters, Baader photometric V filter

User avatar
Sean.Wang
Posts: 713
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 10:08 am

Re: Two problems

Post by Sean.Wang » Tue May 08, 2018 10:30 am

Hi there
Did you try other imaging softwares? We just want to make sure the issue is cause by camera or software.
ZWO | Marketing Consultant
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

motto:
Don't face one's fate, can't be a real man;
Don't know manners, can't be gentle;
Don't know meaning behind the words, can't understand man's heart.

User avatar
james_screech
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:34 am
Location: Bedford, England
Contact:

Re: Two problems

Post by james_screech » Tue May 08, 2018 11:21 am

I haven't tried any other software. I haven't changed anything in the software since I was last using the camera. The short exposure issue was happening in about 10% of images. The download issue only happened once during each session (of 1000+ exposures), so cannot be re-produced on demand.

James
200pds, ED70 & Lunt LS50THa scopes
Celestron AVX & SE4 mounts
ASI1600MM-Cool, Atik414ex, 500D (mod) & ASI120MM cameras
XAGYL filterwheel, ZWO LRGB filters, Baader photometric V filter

s3igell
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:04 pm

Re: Two problems

Post by s3igell » Tue May 08, 2018 1:35 pm

This issue sounds like saturation of something in the USB3 connection chain - a low-quality cable or a Hub or Host Port that cannot keep-up with the volume of data generated by the ASI Cameras.

Try to reduce the USB3 Bandwidth. APT should have a setting that allows you to reduce the ASI Bandwidth - its exposed by the Driver and available in programs such as SharpCap3. (You could use SharpCap3 as a foil to test whether this is your issue.)
ES AR152 / ES 80ED Apo / Orion 8in f/3.9 / C9.25-SCT / C6-SCT / C10-NGT / AT6RC / Meade 6000 f/7 115mm APO
550D (Modded) / 60D / ASI1600MM-Cool / ASI120MM-S
Dark Skies in SW CO when I can get there, and badly light polluted backyard when I can't...

User avatar
james_screech
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:34 am
Location: Bedford, England
Contact:

Re: Two problems

Post by james_screech » Tue May 08, 2018 2:17 pm

s3igell wrote:This issue sounds like saturation of something in the USB3 connection chain - a low-quality cable or a Hub or Host Port that cannot keep-up with the volume of data generated by the ASI Cameras.

Try to reduce the USB3 Bandwidth. APT should have a setting that allows you to reduce the ASI Bandwidth - its exposed by the Driver and available in programs such as SharpCap3. (You could use SharpCap3 as a foil to test whether this is your issue.)
My imaging laptop only has USB2 ports and that is all I've ever used with the ASI1600MM-C and the bandwidth is set at 40%, that was one of the first things I checked. The cable is the same one I've been using ever since I got the camera, I don't use a hub except the one in the ASI1600MM-C and I have an ASI120MM guide camera plugged in that (bandwidth 40% also), and that was not imaging when I was taking the flats & aligning the mount. The setup is exactly the same as I've been using ever since I bought the camera and I've never had these problems before.

James
200pds, ED70 & Lunt LS50THa scopes
Celestron AVX & SE4 mounts
ASI1600MM-Cool, Atik414ex, 500D (mod) & ASI120MM cameras
XAGYL filterwheel, ZWO LRGB filters, Baader photometric V filter

User avatar
Sean.Wang
Posts: 713
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 10:08 am

Re: Two problems

Post by Sean.Wang » Wed May 09, 2018 9:52 am

Is there anything changed recently? Such as update OS, update ATP?
ZWO | Marketing Consultant
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

motto:
Don't face one's fate, can't be a real man;
Don't know manners, can't be gentle;
Don't know meaning behind the words, can't understand man's heart.

User avatar
james_screech
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:34 am
Location: Bedford, England
Contact:

Re: Two problems

Post by james_screech » Wed May 09, 2018 10:28 am

I haven't updated APT recently, just the constant updates to Windows 10 that Microsoft force on all users.

James
200pds, ED70 & Lunt LS50THa scopes
Celestron AVX & SE4 mounts
ASI1600MM-Cool, Atik414ex, 500D (mod) & ASI120MM cameras
XAGYL filterwheel, ZWO LRGB filters, Baader photometric V filter

User avatar
Sean.Wang
Posts: 713
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 10:08 am

Re: Two problems

Post by Sean.Wang » Thu May 10, 2018 10:20 am

OK, I see. Looks like some unstable problem happened after update OS, we don't know what is it.
could you try another capture softwares? we need to know if the issue is depand on software or not.
ZWO | Marketing Consultant
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

motto:
Don't face one's fate, can't be a real man;
Don't know manners, can't be gentle;
Don't know meaning behind the words, can't understand man's heart.

User avatar
james_screech
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:34 am
Location: Bedford, England
Contact:

Re: Two problems

Post by james_screech » Thu May 10, 2018 10:47 am

Sean.Wang wrote:OK, I see. Looks like some unstable problem happened after update OS, we don't know what is it.
could you try another capture softwares? we need to know if the issue is depand on software or not.
It may be a few days before I get a chance but I'll see what I can do.

James
200pds, ED70 & Lunt LS50THa scopes
Celestron AVX & SE4 mounts
ASI1600MM-Cool, Atik414ex, 500D (mod) & ASI120MM cameras
XAGYL filterwheel, ZWO LRGB filters, Baader photometric V filter

User avatar
james_screech
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:34 am
Location: Bedford, England
Contact:

Re: Two problems

Post by james_screech » Fri May 11, 2018 9:16 pm

I’ve just tried taking flats again with apt and couldn’t reproduce the problem. I don’t think I’ve done anything different from the times when the problem occurred.

James
200pds, ED70 & Lunt LS50THa scopes
Celestron AVX & SE4 mounts
ASI1600MM-Cool, Atik414ex, 500D (mod) & ASI120MM cameras
XAGYL filterwheel, ZWO LRGB filters, Baader photometric V filter

Post Reply