6200 MM PRO: column error in binning 2 and 4

ASI's Range of Specialised CMOS camera's

Moderator: Sam

Post Reply
equinoxx
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:25 pm

6200 MM PRO: column error in binning 2 and 4

Post by equinoxx » Sun Feb 09, 2020 6:25 pm

When using binning 2 or 4, the last 6 columns remain black.

With binning 1 everything works fine.
It looks like a driver problem.

I use:

ASI 6200 MM Pro
ASCOM: ASICamera Setup V6.0.3.26
current ASI drivers
MaximDL Ver. 5.15
Attachments
SpError.jpg

Support1@ZWO
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:24 am

Re: 6200 MM PRO: column error in binning 2 and 4

Post by Support1@ZWO » Tue Feb 11, 2020 7:12 am


equinoxx
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:25 pm

Re: 6200 MM PRO: column error in binning 2 and 4

Post by equinoxx » Tue Feb 11, 2020 5:58 pm

now, with ASCOM: ASICamera Setup V6.0.3.27 it looks like this:

when using binning 2 the last 4 columns remain black
when using binning 4 the last 2 columns remain black
Attachments
SpError-2.jpg

Support1@ZWO
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:24 am

Re: 6200 MM PRO: column error in binning 2 and 4

Post by Support1@ZWO » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:53 am

Please crop the black lines.
I have report this issue to our devs ans it is a known problem, can not be fixed right now.
This is caused by the difference between the resolution of MDL in ASCOM and that in our SDK. We know this problem, but there are many modifications involved, not only on our camera, and we cannot solve it for the time being.

mmotta
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2019 1:50 am

Re: 6200 MM PRO: column error in binning 2 and 4

Post by mmotta » Thu Feb 27, 2020 2:53 pm

I also have a new ASI6200, use SkyX pro.
my focal length is 5200mm for a 32 inch (0.8 meter) telescope, so I must bin
at 1x1 no artifact seen
at 2x2 get a black band along the right sided 15 pixel column
at 3x3 (what I am using now) get a 15 pixel white band along the right hand side, have to constantly crop out.
at 4x4 (What I really want to use to get 0.5 arcsec /pixel), get bizarre diagonal artifacts, completely not usable.

disappointing. I hope this can be fixed with new driver soon.

Mario Motta, new ASI user

Support1@ZWO
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:24 am

Re: 6200 MM PRO: column error in binning 2 and 4

Post by Support1@ZWO » Fri Feb 28, 2020 8:23 am

mmotta wrote:
Thu Feb 27, 2020 2:53 pm
I also have a new ASI6200, use SkyX pro.
my focal length is 5200mm for a 32 inch (0.8 meter) telescope, so I must bin
at 1x1 no artifact seen
at 2x2 get a black band along the right sided 15 pixel column
at 3x3 (what I am using now) get a 15 pixel white band along the right hand side, have to constantly crop out.
at 4x4 (What I really want to use to get 0.5 arcsec /pixel), get bizarre diagonal artifacts, completely not usable.

disappointing. I hope this can be fixed with new driver soon.

Mario Motta, new ASI user
Thanks for your feedback!
Our devs are working on this problem and have fix it in the latest release of ASCOM.
The SkyX plugin will be released soon as well.

equinoxx
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:25 pm

Re: 6200 MM PRO: column error in binning 2 and 4

Post by equinoxx » Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:50 pm

Thanks for the correction, it works now!

Post Reply