ASI178MM Image problem??

ASI's Range of Specialised CMOS camera's

Moderator: Sam

Post Reply
dbreit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2020 4:40 am

ASI178MM Image problem??

Post by dbreit » Thu Feb 20, 2020 4:49 pm

Using the newest SharpCap / Win7 / and USB2 ports..
NOTE! There is no such problem with the ASI178MC OSC..
Nothing I do effects anything (in an effort to solve this problem).. Not gain, not the image format, USB Traffic, banding suppression.. Nothing..
Nothing except exposure.. It *seems* to start at around 2 seconds.. A 1955ms image is fine, a 2011ms image is bad half of the time..
Help! :shock:
Derek
Image_Problem.png

dbreit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2020 4:40 am

Re: ASI178MM Image problem??

Post by dbreit » Thu Feb 20, 2020 6:37 pm

With more testing, namely with different capture software, this *appears* to NOT be an issue with the camera..

I will head to the appropriate forum..

I LOVE my Color and Mono ASI178's!

Derek

Katherine.Tsai
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:24 am

Re: ASI178MM Image problem??

Post by Katherine.Tsai » Fri Feb 21, 2020 8:51 am

Thank you for sharing this, if you got any news welcome to post it here.

dbreit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2020 4:40 am

Re: ASI178MM Image problem??

Post by dbreit » Fri Feb 21, 2020 6:59 pm

Hello Katherine..
Well, it seems there is some sort of issue - for me at least - in the current version of SharpCap 32bit that the 64 bit version doesn't have.. The 64 bit version works, the 32 bit version doesn't around 50% of the time..
In my simple indoor testing, I found the problem occurs - in SharpCap 32 bit version 3.2.6194.0 1/3/2020 - at about 2 seconds exposure.. I used the exposure slider, as opposed to directly entering a specific exposure duration.. No other settings whatsoever had an effect on the issue, including 8bit vs 16bit images, regardless of image type, USB traffic, banding suppression, etc.. nothing matters except exposure duration.. And I switched back and forth from the 32 bit and 64 bit SharpCap a dozen times..
The 64 bit SharpCap had no problem in a dozen tests totaling over 300 images..
The 32bit version of SharpCap had good images all the time with an exposure of 1955ms (or less).. With an exposure of 2011ms, or more, the images were bad around 50% of the time..
SharpCap is looking into it..

Post Reply