Trouble connecting ASIair to HEQ5

Astrophotography has never been easier

Moderators: Sam, Tech@ZWO, ASIAIR@ZWO

SirToby
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:07 pm

Trouble connecting ASIair to HEQ5

Post by SirToby » Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:44 pm

Hi!
I am having trouble connecting my ASIair to my HEQ5 mount using EQdir cables. Tried two different brands (PagasusAstro and Lynx) with no luck. Made sure its connected properly on both ends (USB into ASIair and the other end into handcontroller port) and that the mount is powered properly. In the software I have chosen ”EQmod with SkySafari”. All that happens is a popup that says to make sure everything is connected properly and powered on, and that the baud is correct but this is something that I cant change at this stage? The mount is 10 years old, can that be a problem? Is it to old?

My gear:
ASIair (original)
SkyWatcher HEQ5 Pro
PegasusAstro and Lynx EQdir cable
Powered by a Celestron Li Powertank through a PegasusAstro Pocket Powerbox

I would be very glad if someone can resolve what I am doing wrong!
Thanks in advance!
/Tobias

tubbyrincewind
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 10:22 am

Re: Trouble connecting ASIair to HEQ5

Post by tubbyrincewind » Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:47 am

Might it be worth checking to see if there are any firmware updates available for the motor controllers.

SirToby
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:07 pm

Re: Trouble connecting ASIair to HEQ5

Post by SirToby » Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:10 pm

tubbyrincewind wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:47 am
Might it be worth checking to see if there are any firmware updates available for the motor controllers.
Interesting. Never updated the mount so there should be! A quick google and I found that its done with a PC connected via the synscan handcontroller. I dont have the required cables for that. Can it be done with a EQdir cable?

SirToby
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:07 pm

Re: Trouble connecting ASIair to HEQ5

Post by SirToby » Thu Jan 30, 2020 1:02 pm

Okay so the mount is updated to the latest motorcontroller firmware but this did not solve the problem..
Is there a way to restore the ASIair to reinstall the ASIair to factory settings and try again with all updates?

User avatar
ASIAIR@ZWO
Posts: 487
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:29 am

Re: Trouble connecting ASIair to HEQ5

Post by ASIAIR@ZWO » Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:38 am

SirToby wrote:
Thu Jan 30, 2020 1:02 pm
Okay so the mount is updated to the latest motorcontroller firmware but this did not solve the problem..
Is there a way to restore the ASIair to reinstall the ASIair to factory settings and try again with all updates?
A lot of HEQ5 users and we have one.
So please check:
#1 The USB port, change one or replug in.
#2 The cable is the main reason
#3 Power ON or OFF?
ZWO | ASIAIR Support
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
Suzhou China

SirToby
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:07 pm

Re: Trouble connecting ASIair to HEQ5

Post by SirToby » Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:51 am

Ji.zwo wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:38 am
SirToby wrote:
Thu Jan 30, 2020 1:02 pm
Okay so the mount is updated to the latest motorcontroller firmware but this did not solve the problem..
Is there a way to restore the ASIair to reinstall the ASIair to factory settings and try again with all updates?
A lot of HEQ5 users and we have one.
So please check:
#1 The USB port, change one or replug in.
#2 The cable is the main reason
#3 Power ON or OFF?
Hi!

#1 I have tried different USB ports on the ASIair and none work. They do work with the cameras however.
#2 I have tried 2 different brands of EQdir cables (Lynx and PegasusAstro) and none work with ASIair. When I connect them with my PC they do work and can control the mount.
#3 The mount is powered on and is connected to an adequate power source.

User avatar
Sam
Posts: 2799
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:51 am

Re: Trouble connecting ASIair to HEQ5

Post by Sam » Wed Feb 19, 2020 6:35 am

can you connect with syncscan handle controller?
ZWO Founder
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China

SirToby
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:07 pm

Re: Trouble connecting ASIair to HEQ5

Post by SirToby » Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:15 am

Unfortunately no, I dont have the required cables to connect the synscan handcontroller to ASIair.

User avatar
ASIAIR@ZWO
Posts: 487
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:29 am

Re: Trouble connecting ASIair to HEQ5

Post by ASIAIR@ZWO » Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:27 am

SirToby wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:15 am
Unfortunately no, I dont have the required cables to connect the synscan handcontroller to ASIair.
Have we tried the [EQMod Mount] option? If you can plz attach some screenshots of the Telescope Settings page.
ZWO | ASIAIR Support
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
Suzhou China

SirToby
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:07 pm

Re: Trouble connecting ASIair to HEQ5

Post by SirToby » Thu Feb 27, 2020 2:29 pm

Ji.zwo wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:27 am
SirToby wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:15 am
Unfortunately no, I dont have the required cables to connect the synscan handcontroller to ASIair.
Have we tried the [EQMod Mount] option? If you can plz attach some screenshots of the Telescope Settings page.
The EQMod Mount option does not appear for me. Will try to attach screenshots:

Image

Image

Best regards, Tobias

Post Reply